Energetic, holistic downtempo with a clear pop signature. That's how you could describe Evva's music. After years of writing and experimenting, the EP, which is called 'Rainbow's End', will be finally released. Unearthly synthesizer tones, organic piano and acoustic drum sounds can be heard in the five trippy, yet catchy songs that are reminiscent of the sensual triphop of Massive Attack and Air.

Dutch band Evva is the project of keyboard player Folkert Hofstra and singer Emma Poppink. 'Rainbow's End' is produced by electronica and house producer Elemenopee (Francesco Taranto).

The EP contains five tracks, each with its own atmosphere and theme. Opener 'Angel', for example, is an introspective treatise on the divine self on a mantra of repeating keyboard melodies. 'Northern Lights' is an ode to the natural phenomenon also known as Aurora Borealis. In the track you can hear acoustic piano in combination with arctic choir and synthesizer sounds. The song was shortlisted by 3voor12/Friesland for 'Frisian song of the year'.

'Electric Wave' is the only love song of the EP with clear references to elements in nature: 'I feel the thunder now, don't make it go away' and 'We belong together baby down in the summer rain'. Jerigo is an atmospheric instrumental track that is very similar to Tycho's music. Eastern influences can be heard in the final track Beacons with its vocal unison lines combined with saxophone, ud (a middle eastern string instrument) and synthesizer.

'Rainbow's End' is available on all streaming platforms.



Etherische, holistische downtempo met een duidelijke popsignatuur. Zo zou je de muziek van Evva kunnen noemen. Na jaren van schrijven en experimenteren komt de EP, die de naam 'Rainbow's End' draagt, eindelijk uit. Onaardse synthesizersounds en akoestische piano- en slagwerkklanken zijn te horen in de vijf trippy, doch energieke songs die doen denken aan de sensuele triphop van Massive Attack en Air.

Evva is het project van toetsenist Folkert Hofstra en zangeres Emma Poppink. 'Rainbow's End' is geproduceerd door electronica en house producer Elemenopee (Francesco Taranto).

De EP bevat vijf tracks met elk een eigen sfeer en thema. Zo is opener 'Angel' een introspectieve verhandeling over het goddelijke zelf op een mantra van herhalende keyboard melodieën. 'Northern Lights' is een ode aan het natuurlijke fenomeen noorderlicht. In de track is de akoestische piano te horen in combinatie met arctische koor- en synthesizerklanken. De song werd door 3voor12/Friesland op de shortlist voor 'Friese song van het jaar' geplaatst.

'Electric Wave' is de enige lovesong van de EP met duidelijke verwijzingen naar elementen in de natuur: 'I feel the thunder now, don't make it go away' en 'We belong together baby down in the summer rain'. Jerigo is een sfeervolle instrumentale track die veel weg heeft van de muziek van Tycho. Oosterse invloeden zijn te horen in slottrack Beacons met haar vocale unisono lijnen gecombineerd met saxofoon, oed (een snaarinstrument) en synthesizer.

'Rainbow's End' is te streamen via alle streaming platforms.

Buy our music Spotify YouTube iTunes


Wanderings through Asia and nature closer to home inspired Evva (Utrecht/Zwolle) to write music using unearthed sounds and natural structures.

For their upcoming EP keyboardist Folkert Hofstra and vocalist Emma Poppink teamed up with producer Elemenopee (NNENN, O-SHiN).

Evva's music draws from the 90’s chill-out of Air, the moodiness of Massive Attack's triphop and the synth nostalgia of Boards Of Canada.


20 June 2019, 17:00
Dalfsen, The Living Village Festival
12 July 2019
Omrop Fryslân, Noardewyn Live

Connect with us


Nieuwe muziek: Electric Wave. (Dutch)
Radio interview
Folkert talks about how Evva writes music, how our live-set is going to be and about our plans. (Dutch)
Air en Boards of Canada zijn inspiratiebronnen voor nieuwe single Evva. (Dutch)
Nieuwe muziek: Evva. (Dutch)


E-mail: info @

Telephone: Folkert Hofstra ( 06 239 288 49 )